Sonshine Florals

Hello crafty friends!

Today I have a card to share with you that I made with the gorgeous whimsical flowers from this stamp set from Sonshine Stamp Co.

floral_sq-600x600

Last weekend we went to watch my son play hockey. We do a lot of that, actually! He’s hockey crazy, and quite good at it really. This time we had several hours between games, so while he hit a ball with friends (because you can never have too much hitting balls, right?) I sat in the warm clubhouse with this stamped image and a small selection of watercolours.

It was interesting because my husband was there too, so he kept popping in to see how it was going. I don’t think he’s ever seen me create before. I usually craft while the boys watch movies, and they see the finished product only. His comment? “It’s quite involved, isn’t it?” I’m not sure what he imagined I was doing!!

I stamped the flowers in pale distress ink, not bothering to mask. I used a mix of colours, depending on what colour the flowers would be in the end. If you look closely, you can see where the ink lines still remain in a few places, but they are so faint that I think it was worth the time saved in not masking. I added a cloudy sky once the flowers were painted, and finished off with a piece of Washi from my stash. The sentiment is a lawn fawn die, which I cut in two colours and offset slightly to give a shadow effect.

Watercolour thanks Sunshine

Here’s a closeup of the offset sentiment.

Watercolour thanks sunshine closeup

I really look forward to using this stamp set over and over. I look forward to sharing the results with you! If you’d like to see more of my work, feel free to check out my Instagram account.

Until next time,

Donna

Leave a Reply

